I did a little parkour on my run and other usual stuff

So, earlier this week I mentioned my evening run suffered from a slight detour. This morning was madness.

I had 5 miles at race pace on the schedule. I let myself sleep in a little because I knew it wasn’t going to get hot fast, so I didn’t get out for my run until 8:30am. It was a perfectly GORGEOUS day here in Denver – 60 degrees and perfect blue sky and sunshine. No complaints about the weather here. The complaints start around mile 3.5 when I ran into yet ANOTHER closed sidewalk – make that 4 closed sidewalks to be precise. And those side walks and cross walks happened to be right where I need to turn to get onto my road to go home without adding another half a dozen miles to my run. I was in no mood to power through a longer run today (I was on the home stretch already! and I knew I had 10 miles tomorrow morning), so I may have made several illegal road crossings, ran along a closed sidewalk, climbed a small retention wall (kinda felt like I was doing parkour) and trampled some flowers. It’s all for the cause.

On a brighter note, after I got home Jonah and I went out to run some errands together including stopping for chocolates and some delicious Garbanzo lunch. And yes we ate the chocolates before lunch – we’re just bad ass like that.

truffles

my plate full of garbanzo goodness…yes that is pickled eggplant – it was new and I’m adventurous like that.

Garbanzo

After lunch we went to one of my favorite local running stores (same one where I bought my garmin) to pick up a gel shot for my run tomorrow, and I found an Asics tech t for ONLY $5!!! Here’s the tag to prove it:

asics deal

I was so excited because I think this is the first time in like 5 years I’ve paid for an item of clothing in cash – you just can’t say no to $5 running tops ladies and gents. This is yet another reason why I LOVE LOCAL RUNNING STORES – they have amazing deals, customer service and I love feeling like I saved a whole bunch of money on something that I wasn’t even planning on buying. enough said.


Ever have to do some parkour while on a run?

Pickled eggplant – have you tried it? Yes/No..opinion?

Best running deal you’ve ever found?

Leave a Comment!

