Yasso 400s and Race Week Thoughts

So I tweeted Bart Yasso today and now we’re basically BFFs as far as I’m concerned.

Our convo went like this:

me: “speed workout tonight – do Yasso 400s work for a #halfmarathon? @BartYasso @runnersworld”
mr. yasso: “@aimee_newman @runnersworld Yes I always did 20 X 400 with a 200 recovery. I did the 400s in my half marathon time.”
me: “@BartYasso @runnersworld thanks!! I can’t wait to try that out tonight…absolutely gorgeous day here in CO for some #Yasso400s”
mr. yasso: “@aimee_newman @runnersworld Let me know how it goes.”
me: “Beautiful evening on the track for some Yasso 400s #successful #halfmarathon #funfitgirl @runnersworld @BartYasso pic.twitter.com/s1L14pAl9m”
mr. yasso: “@aimee_newman Wow looks like a perfect night to hit the track @runnersworld”

see, clearly we are now running buddies for life and will be planning future runs together in beautiful places asap.

…back on planet earth, I ran some Yasso 400s this evening on the local track and it went really well. The basic theory behind this workout is you run a bunch of 400s at the time you expect to run your half marathon in. For example, if you were running a 1 hour and 50 minute half, you’d run a bunch of 1 min 50 seconds 400s. I’m sure there’s a more scientific runner’s theory behind this but this is how I understand it best and it works for me.

beautiful evening on the track

I also wore my shirt from my last 10K for the first time – I thought it was appropriately edgy for this workout

shirt

shirt reads “no fire, no mud, no color, no bubbles, no obstacles…just trails!”

yes I know I wasn’t on a trail, but it still seemed appropriate.

My next 10K is this Sunday. This is my last race before the big one. Pavement Runner wrote a really great post about race week thoughts (you can read it here). Right now I’m feeling anticipation and excitement for this 10K because I think I am much better prepared, both physically and mentally, and I’m hopeful that I’ll PR. At the same time I’m feeling nervous because I know this is my last short race before the big one (my first 13.1).

At the end of the day, I need to keep reminding myself that my real goal for my half is to “finish with a smile” and enjoy it – you only get one first half marathon.

Real time update on the BFF tweets:

mr. yasso: @aimee_newman My new BFF, keep on running and blogging #funfitgirl  

…that just made my day


Ever done Yasso 400s or 800s?

What’s on your mind race week?

Best first half/full marathon memory?

One thought on “Yasso 400s and Race Week Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Running Wardrobe Malfunctions – they happen | funfitgirl

Leave a Comment!

